My second shawl for the 10 shawls in 2010 challenge is finished! I made the famous Shetland Triangle Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark.

Pattern: Shetland Triangle Shawl (rav link) by Evelyn A. Clark

Yarn: Cascade 220, aprox. 350 yds.

Mods: I knitted 7 repeats of the body chart

Start/End date: Jan 11- Jan 22

This is a very quick and easy knit, particularly in worsted weight yarn. The most beautiful part about the pattern, in my opinion, are the undulating lines. These lines are what made me want to knit the pattern in the first place, but I must admit, when I was knitting the shawl I doubted that they were there. The texutre of the knitted fabric during the actual knitting process, is not ideal. It is wavy and the individual lines are lost. But through the magical powers of blocking, this shawl bloomed into something that is stunning.

The yarn I used for this shawl is now in its third iteration, its first being a vest, and its second being my lace ribbon scarf. I have decided this year, that if I have made something that I don’t wear and can’t gift, I’m going to reuse the yarn. I basically never wore my lace ribbon scarf, and I thought this jade color would be stunning as a shetland triangle, so I turned it into something I would wear. Be on the lookout over the next year for FOs using familiar looking yarn.

