2011- 1st Quarter FOs

I have been knitting away in 2011 and I have a lot of FOs to show you! I have been feeling very productive and have had a lot of babysitting evenings to work on projects. This post will contain my projects for January. I will do a post for February shortly.

Crystalline Socks

These were made for the SKA sockdown January challenge (slipped stitches). I love this stitch pattern and had to go through a few different sock patterns to find one that was intuitive. Also, most of the patterns I tried were toe-up, which I don’t really enjoy knitting. These were a quick and easy pair of socks.

Pattern: Crystalline Socks
Yarn: Plymouth Happy Feet (a Christmas gift from Julia!)
Needles: US 2
Started January 1
Finished January 15th
No mods
Ravelry Project page here

I really enjoy working with this yarn. This is the third time that I’ve used it and I think the bright pink and green were a good combination for the pattern. Overall a success

Haruni Shawl

This was my first shawl of 2011, and it was made for my friend Lil for her birthday. I’ve wanted to make the Haruni shawl since about this time last year when it was published by a member of the 10 shawls in 2010 group.

Pattern: Haruni
Yarn: YarnAddict 100% Superwash Merino
Needles: US 6
Started January 15
Finished January 23
Mods: Only knit 10 body repeats instead of 12 as I wasn’t sure how far my yarn would go.
Ravelry Project Page Here

I really enjoyed this pattern. It was a very quick knit, and was a perfect combination with this yarn. I haven’t officially committed to the 11 shawls in 2011 challenge (i.e. I’m making the shawls, but I won’t be upset if I don’t make 11 this year) but I seem to have been re-gripped by the shawl bug. Anyway, Lil loves her new shawl/scarf and It’s the perfect color for her.

