Today, I have for you the first two projects I finished in February. Parts 2 and 3 will come shortly.

Scent of Lavender Socks

These socks were made for the SKA Sockdown February challenge. They are from Stephanie Van Der Linden’s book Around the World in Knitted Socks. The pattern is inspired by France.
Pattern: Scent of Lavender
Yarn: Mystery 4 ply sock yarn I picked up in a rummage sale at All the fun of the Fair. It is gorgeous yarn.
Needles: US 2
Started February 2
Finished February 8
No Mods

These are officially the fastest knit socks I’ve ever made. The pattern was so quick and intuitive. I think that the yarn shows off the pattern very well despite the slight variegations. This is a really beautiful pattern and I recommend to anyone!

Kalmia Hat

Sometime in January or early February All the fun of the Fair had a refurbishment sale, and I managed to score some amazing deals. Part of the amazing deals was this skein of Dream in color classy. I purchased a year subscription to the online magazine KnitCircus and one of the patterns in this season’s issue is this hat designed by Susanna IC.

Pattern: Kalmia
Yarn: Dream In Color Classy in Giant Peach
Needles: US 10.5
Started February 11
Finished February 12
No Mods

I took the project with me on a lifegroup trip to our friend Macey’s house for a sleepover. I decided to make the hat for Macey as a thank you for letting us come and take over her house. I knitted on it the entire evening as we chatted and watched TV. It was really a very quick knit. I finished the remaining rows the next day as I watched rugby with some of my guy friends. They thought this was entertaining and I got many requests for knitted beanies. I must apologize for the dark photos; I only got one chance to photograph it (early in the morning) and now Macey has it. One day I will get better pictures of it.

